Wednesday, 12 July 2017

Nemesis - Book Review

Nemesis is a Young Adult book by Brendan Reichs, son of Author, Kathy Reichs and co-author of the Virals series.





Paperback: 464 pages
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books; Main Market Ed. edition (13 July 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1509860304
ISBN-13: 978-1509860302
Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.9 x 19.7 cm


The Blurb

It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, the same man finds her and murders her in cold blood. But hours later she wakes up in a clearing just outside her hometown – alone, unhurt, and with all evidence of the crime erased.

Across the valley, Noah just wants to be like everyone else. But he’s not. Nightmares of murder and death plague him too, though he does his best to hide the signs.

And as the world around them begins to spiral towards panic and destruction, the two troubled teens discover that people have been lying to them their whole lives . . .

A YA summer blockbuster thriller for fans of The Maze Runner and The 100

My View

I have to admit that this book was a real page turner for me, I probably would have read it in one go if it wasn't for the fact I needed to eat, sleep and look after my family. 
Not being familiar with Brendan Reichs or his author mother, Kathy Reichs, I wasn't sure what to expect.

At first I really thought it was some sort of crime thriller but I was excited by it turning out to be more of a science fiction thriller. 

The characters were believable, typical teenagers which their usual problems and emotional turmoils. From the start I knew which ones I liked more and the difference between the goodies and baddies where obvious. 

I like how the book kept me guessing, I had no idea how it was going to end. There were many twists and turns and you were kept waiting for the conclusion.

I wasn't sure at first if I was satisfied with the ending, it's obviously left open for more books. Answers were given but then at the end you are suddenly lunged into a completely new situation. It's difficult to explain without giving anything away, but it's typical of a sci-fi ending. 

The book is described as a genre-defying mixture of a crime thriller with a sci-fi twist at the end and I'd agree with that completely. 

Who is it for?

Aimed at Young Adults the books main characters are all teenagers, but the book would appeal to anyone who loves a good mystery. It really does keep you guessing on many things. If you like stories with apocalyptic themes then this book would suit you, likewise if you were a sci-fan or crime thriller fan. The rating is 12+

The book is out now on kindle and is released in paperback on 13th July.

What do you think, does it sound like something you might enjoy? 

Disclosure: This book was sent to me in return for my honest review. This post contains an affiliate link.

A little Note About Positive Reviews on Raisie Bay



Some people only write reviews when things go wrong with products, which is good because it lets people know that there could be potential problems. I've also seen negative feedback with say things like, I had to return this item because the colour did not suit me...is this useful?

I write reviews on most items I buy because I like to give genuine feedback. If I have a genuine problem with a product I will write my review in the appropriate place.

I write reviews on my blog too, but they are mostly positive. Why? Because I only write reviews for the things I've loved. If I don't love them I let the person who sent me them know with details why and then let them decided if they would rather me write a negative review or not write one at all. It's always the latter.

This is my blog, my place and I'll let you know about the things I love. If you want to find out what other people have hated about the product then you will need to look elsewhere.

My reviews may all be positive, but they are still genuine.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Please Support My Sponsors