My Summer Reading List

Summer is here, the sun is shining (well it is for now) and it’s the perfect time to sit back, relax and lose yourself in a good book.

a woman sitting in a deckchair on a beach, reading a book

I’ve put together a list of books that I’m hoping to read this summer and I thought I’d share it with you.

Thriller

I love a good psychological thriller and I’m already half way through this one.

cover art for book, a red butterfly on a window frame

Three Secrets

A terrible secret killed your husband…. But which one?

Robert kisses his wife on the head before heading out to the shop for more wine; he walks up the hill, takes a left across the footbridge, and jumps to his death on the busy motorway below.

Two years later, Francesca and her young daughter are leaving London for a fresh start. Money is tight, and Robert’s mother has found them a little cottage in her village. Francesca is grateful for the help, but why does Robert’s mother want to keep them so close? Does she know about what Francesca did in the hour before Robert’s death?

Soon Francesca begins to suspect there was more to her husband’s death than she realised, that there might be even darker secrets hiding in his past than her own….

The closer she gets to uncovering the truth, the more she asks: Is her own life in danger now, too?

Buy Three Secrets on Amazon for £20.03

The Light Read

Best for the beach or relaxing in the garden. A nice feel good read is great for the summer.

cover art for book, an illustration of four women on a beach and four different looking beach huts

How to Keep a Secret

A feel-good listen full of drama and romance, this is a story about family, being brave and opening up to love from international best seller Sarah Morgan.

Three generations of Stewart women, all with secrets to keep…

Matriarch Nancy knows she hasn’t been the best mother, but how can she ever tell her daughters the reason why? Lauren and Jenna are as close as two sisters can be, and they made a pact years ago to keep a devastating secret from their mother – but is it time to come clean? Lauren’s teenage daughter, Mackenzie, masks her own pain by keeping her mother at a distance. Her mother, aunt and grandmother keep trying to reach her, but will it take a stranger to show her the true meaning of family?

When life changes in an instant, the Stewart women are thrown together for a summer, and suddenly they must relearn how to be a family. And whilst unravelling their secrets might be their biggest challenge, it could also be their finest moment….

Buy How to Keep a Secret on Amazon for £5.75

The Good Laugh.

I love a book that can make me laugh out loud. Nothing better to settle down with a funny book on a balmy summer’s evening.

cover art for book, a bright yellow background with shelves of kitchen utensils. A big pink fridge, a dog, two bottles of wine and a bag of groceries.

The Mum Who’d Had Enough

The voice of modern women is back! Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Carole Matthews.

Nate Turner has a nice life. He has a steady job as a driving examiner and lives with his wife, Sinead, and son, Flynn, in a lovely house in a good part of town. Yes, it’s a very nice life.

Until one morning Nate comes downstairs to find Sinead gone and a note lying on the kitchen table, listing all the many things that Nate does wrong – or doesn’t do at all.

Now, somehow, Nate needs to show Sinead he can change – fast. But as Nate works on being a better husband and dad, his life changes in amazing and unexpected ways. And he starts to wonder whether he wants to go back to normal after all. Could there be more to life than nice?

buy The Mum Who’d had Enough on Amazon for £7.11

 

A Little Romance

I’ve always been a fan of Marian Keyes and we all need a little romance in our lives.

cover art for book, a blue background with an illustration of a suitcase with pink bra and pair of red shoes.

Rachel’s Holiday

Rachel Walsh is 27 and the miserable owner of size 8 feet. She has regular congress with Luke Costello, a man who wears his leather trousers tight. And she’s fond – some might say too fond – of recreational drugs.

Until, that is, everything goes pear-shaped and she finds herself being frog-marched to the Cloisters – Dublin’s answer to the Betty Ford Clinic. She’s outraged. Surely she’s not thin enough to be an addict?

Rachel isn’t expecting plump, middle-aged men in brown jumpers, and more group therapy than you can shake a stick at. Heartsick and Lovesick, she seeks redemption in the shape of Chris – a man who might be more trouble than he’s worth.

You can buy Rachel’s Holiday on Amazon for £6.45

Horror

My taste for horror has depleted over the years, but once upon a time I was a big James Herbert fan. This is one of his that I’ve not read, so if I did go back for a little scare, then this would be the one I’d go for.

cover art a silhouette of person struggling through moonlit cobwebs

Nobody True

Deadline. Jim True has returned from an out-of-body experience to find he has been brutally murdered and his body mutilated. No one can see him, no one can hear him, no one, except his killer, knows he still exists.

Freed from his body, True embarks on a quest to find his killer and discover why and how he has managed to survive. As he closes in on his murderer, True discovers that even the very people he loved and trusted have betrayed him. He meets his killer, a strange and sinister figure who can also leave his body at will.

An epic and deadly battle ensues between True and a seemingly unstoppable and hideous serial killer – a man now intent on even more murders, including True’s wife and child.

 

Buy Nobody True on Amazon for £9.99

What sort of books will you be indulging in this summer?

I prefer to listen to my books on Audible, in fact I’m quite addicted. You can trial Audible free for 30 days, you get a credit every month for a new download.




Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links

Monday Stumble Linky

3 Comments

  1. June 25, 2018 / 11:47 am

    Some great books with added in the list I like the first one I’m particularly fond of X #mmbc

  2. June 29, 2018 / 11:42 pm

    I haven’t tried audible but have been hoping to find a book or especially a series to get me back into it. Nothing like some light summer reading so thanks for the suggestions. I find written horror even more terrifying than visual and I’m such a chicken but still have a taste for the genre.

  3. July 1, 2018 / 11:14 am

    I like your choices Anne. The Mum Who’d Had Enough seems like a fun read and being a total horror fan I think I would really enjoy Nobody True. I need to make more time to just sit back with a good book!

    Thanks for sharing with #MMBC. x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A little Note About Positive Reviews on Raisie Bay

A little Note About Positive Reviews on Raisie Bay

Some people only write reviews when things go wrong with products, which is good because it lets people know that there could be potential problems. I’ve also seen negative feedback with say things like, I had to return this item because the colour did not suit me…is this useful?

I write reviews on most items I buy because I like to give genuine feedback. If I have a genuine problem with a product I will write my review in the appropriate place.

I write reviews on my blog too, but they are mostly positive. Why? Because I only write reviews for the things I’ve loved. If I don’t love them I let the person who sent me them know with details why and then let them decided if they would rather me write a negative review or not write one at all. It’s always the latter.

This is my blog, my place and I’ll let you know about the things I love. If you want to find out what other people have hated about the product then you will need to look elsewhere.

My reviews may all be positive, but they are still genuine.