Mother by S. E Lynes – Book Review

I’ve just finished listening to my latest book on Audible.

Mother, S.E.Lynes cover art

By: S. E. Lynes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
Unabridged Audiobook
Release date: 23-11-17
Language: English
Publisher: Bookouture

The Blurb

Christopher would never hurt anyone. Not intentionally. Even after everything that’s happened, I still believe that….

Christopher Harris is a lonely boy. A boy who has never fit into his family. Who has always felt something was missing from his life. Until one day, when he discovers a suitcase in his family’s attic, and a secret about his mother that changes everything….

Mother will leave you reeling and hold you breathless until the very last minute. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainThe Sister, and Apple Tree Yard.

My Thoughts

My first thoughts when listening to a book on Audible are whether or not I like the voice of the narrator (or narrators in some cases.) I found Tamsin Kennard perfect, she was easy to listen too, added a lot of character with accents, and easily switched from light and breezy to dark and dangerous.

The characters really stood out in this story, you could really imagine the stiff but fairly normal family that Christopher came from. His view of them was much worse than how they actually appeared to be. The first inkling that there was something wrong with his mind set. Christopher himself was instantly dis-likeable but you were also made to feel a little sympathy for the awkward character.

The other characters each came to life and were easily believed, so many little intricacies of character that were perfectly expressed.

The story line followed the life of Christopher in the Seventies and I could totally relate to the times, which I guess shows my age. But, I also believe that the listener (or reader) will easily understand the era too, the fashion, the music, the news, there is so much crammed in.

We know from the beginning that someone is going to die but you are left guessing who it may be until near the end. Of course you may have formed an opinion on  this early on, but it’s hard to exactly pinpoint how the characters where to end up in this confrontation.

When it does occur then it’s BAM, and so much happens so quickly you are left reeling and shocked. Your emotions will be all over the place, who to feel sorry for? Who to blame? So many questions. But you are not left hanging as the story comes to a satisfying conclusion.

My Verdict

I thoroughly enjoyed this thriller. It had a dark undertone all the way through, even when Christopher finally feels happy with his life, the darkness still haunts him. It’s not a feel good book, but it will take you on a journey which covers many years of this young man’s life and adventures up to it’s satisfying but dark conclusion.

The tag line “Your Lies Will Always Catch Up With You” is perfect. Watch out for the lies, they are everywhere!

Audible

I have recently fallen in love with Audible. You can listen to your books while getting on with your housework, or relaxing, or even doing your hobby, in my case crochet. I’ve also found it really entertaining while having my hospital treatment. Plus, it’s great for when your eyes get tired of reading.

You can even try Audible for Free, take a look at these membership offers;

Audible Membership

Members can receive one or two monthly credits (depending on the plan they choose) to redeem on any title in our store. Besides receiving monthly credits, a member also receives special members-only sales and promotions.

Audible Membership Free Trial (click if you would like to try a free trial)

New customers can join Audible with a 30-day free trial of our ‘1 Book Monthly’ Membership. During the trial, customers receive one free monthly credit to be applied to any title in our store. Customers in a free trial memberships will receive all the benefits of being a member within those 30 days. To note, you may cancel at any time during the trial period. When the trial period ends, memberships will automatically renew at our full rate of £7.99/month.

Amazon

If you prefer to read a book yourself you can find Mother on Amazon.

 

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links which may earn me a little money but will not cost you any extra. Plus the Audible offers are great value.

1 Comment

  1. May 13, 2018 / 4:14 pm

    Fab review Anne.

    Sadly, I lose concentration with audio (have a really dominant visual preference) and feel envious of listeners! Sounds a wonderful format for you :).

    Thanks for linking with us on Talk of the Town.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *